Skip to main content

FlyingLess

Successful research, less flying

The FlyingLess project, in collaboration with four partners and coordinated by the ifeu institute, is developing approaches to reduce flight emissions in academia. To achieve the broadest possible impact, the results and specific tools are made available through various communication channels.

More about the project

About the project

Why FlyingLess

With the internationalization of science and research, air travel by university staff has also increased - scientists are among the frequent flyers.

The goal of the FlyingLess project is to support universities and research organizations in reducing flight emissions which accounts for a significant share of their total greenhouse gas emissions. In doing so, FlyingLess develops approaches to reduce air travel in academia that are implemented at different levels (research, teaching and administration). Successful reduction of flight emissions requires broad participation and support, both from the management level and from staff and students.  

 

What FlyingLess offers

FlyingLess is developing a monitoring tool for universities and research organizations to track their flight emissions and quantify emissions reductions over the next years. This tool will be made available to all interested parties via the website. Stakeholders within the participating partners will be involved via surveys and interviews, and their needs and opinions will be elicited and taken into account during the course of the project. In the project, the internal and external framework conditions (e.g. travel guidelines, research funding criteria) will be evaluated, adjustments recommended and, where possible, implemented by the partners. In doing so, the excellence of science is to be maintained; networks of researchers are to be further expanded and the career opportunities of young scientists are not to be jeopardized. Experiences from the Corona crisis will be reflected and taken into account in the project.  

 How will the results be shared

The results will be made available and disseminated through various communication channels (including website, Twitter, lectures, workshops, public relations). The goal is to inform and motivate as many universities and research organizations as possible to apply the experience gained and tools developed in FlyingLess to reduce flight emissions in their organizations.  

The project is carried out in close collaboration with four partners: EMBL (European Molecular Biology Laboratory) and MPI Astronomy in Heidelberg as non-university research institutions and the Universities of Konstanz and Potsdam as universities. 

 

The project is led by the ifeu Institute Heidelberg in close collaboration with Dr. Nicole Aeschbach, TdLab Geography at the Institute of Geography at Heidelberg University.

At the TdLab Geography at Heidelberg University, actors from science and practice work together on solutions for climate protection, adaptation to climate change impacts and other sustainability issues.

Project leader and contact person is Dr. Susann Görlinger (e-mail: susann.goerlinger@ifeu.de). FlyingLess is also supported by Prof. Marcel Hunecke, organizational and environmental psychologist at the University of Applied Sciences Dortmund and Prof. Leif Döring, mathematician at the University of Mannheim.

The project is funded over 3 years by the National Climate Initiative (NKI) of the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety. 

Why FlyingLess

With the internationalization of science and research, air travel by university staff has also increased - scientists are among the frequent flyers.

The goal of the FlyingLess project is to support universities and research organizations in reducing flight emissions which accounts for a significant share of their total greenhouse gas emissions. In doing so, FlyingLess develops approaches to reduce air travel in academia that are implemented at different levels (research, teaching and administration). Successful reduction of flight emissions requires broad participation and support, both from the management level and from staff and students.  

 

What FlyingLess offers

FlyingLess is developing a monitoring tool for universities and research organizations to track their flight emissions and quantify emissions reductions over the next years. This tool will be made available to all interested parties via the website. Stakeholders within the participating partners will be involved via surveys and interviews, and their needs and opinions will be elicited and taken into account during the course of the project. In the project, the internal and external framework conditions (e.g. travel guidelines, research funding criteria) will be evaluated, adjustments recommended and, where possible, implemented by the partners. In doing so, the excellence of science is to be maintained; networks of researchers are to be further expanded and the career opportunities of young scientists are not to be jeopardized. Experiences from the Corona crisis will be reflected and taken into account in the project.  

 How will the results be shared

The results will be made available and disseminated through various communication channels (including website, Twitter, lectures, workshops, public relations). The goal is to inform and motivate as many universities and research organizations as possible to apply the experience gained and tools developed in FlyingLess to reduce flight emissions in their organizations.  

The project is carried out in close collaboration with four partners: EMBL (European Molecular Biology Laboratory) and MPI Astronomy in Heidelberg as non-university research institutions and the Universities of Konstanz and Potsdam as universities. 

 

The project is led by the ifeu Institute Heidelberg in close collaboration with Dr. Nicole Aeschbach, TdLab Geography at the Institute of Geography at Heidelberg University.

At the TdLab Geography at Heidelberg University, actors from science and practice work together on solutions for climate protection, adaptation to climate change impacts and other sustainability issues.

Project leader and contact person is Dr. Susann Görlinger (e-mail: susann.goerlinger@ifeu.de). FlyingLess is also supported by Prof. Marcel Hunecke, organizational and environmental psychologist at the University of Applied Sciences Dortmund and Prof. Leif Döring, mathematician at the University of Mannheim.

The project is funded over 3 years by the National Climate Initiative (NKI) of the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety. 

What does FlyingLess do?

Downloads & Links

Downloads

Links

Podcast by Claudia Frick and Florian Freistetter about climate change (IPCC report), here also about the topic of flying

Flyingless Blog der Tufts University

Resource Guide Flying Less in Academia by Katz-Rosene with general information on flyingless and on sustainable conferencing and much more

STAY GROUNDED is an international movement focused on the climate impact of aviation

World map on Academic Air Travel Reduction and Offsetting Projects (by Agnes Kreil)

Satellites

Satellites content

Interested universities and research institutions can be involved in the project as so-called "satellites" - more information can be found in the flyer on participation as satellites in the FlyingLess project.
If you are interested in participating in the project as a "satellite" or would like to know more, please contact Dr Susann Görlinger (susann.goerlinger@ifeu.de).

 

Who participates

The project is carried out in close cooperation with four partners: EMBL (European Molecular Biology Laboratory) and MPI Astronomy in Heidelberg as non-university research institutions and the Universities of Konstanz and Potsdam as universities.

 

University of Konstanz

University of Konstanz: Successful in the Excellence Initiative and the Excellence Strategy of the Federal and State Governments. Since 2007.

University of Potsdam

The University of Potsdam is the largest university in Brandenburg with approximately 22,000 students.

EMBL

EMBL is Europe’s only intergovernmental organisation for life science research, undertaking pioneering research and providing cutting-edge biological services and infrastructures.

MPI Astronomy

The Max Planck Institute for Astronomy explores the nature of our universe - from planets and stars to galaxies and black holes - to reveal.

Project management ifeu

ifeu researches and advises on important environmental and sustainability issues worldwide for numerous international and national funding agencies and clients. With over 40 years of experience, it is one of the most important ecologically oriented, independent and non-profit research institutes in Germany.

Visit ifeu

Project funding

Zum Hauptinhalt springen

FlyingLess

Erfolgreich forschen, weniger fliegen

Das Projekt FlyingLess, in Zusammenarbeit mit vier Partnern und koordiniert vom ifeu-Institut, entwickelt Ansätze zur Reduktion der Flugemissionen im akademischen Bereich. Um eine möglichst breite Wirkung zu erzielen, werden die Ergebnisse und spezifische Werkzeuge über verschiedene Kommunikationskanäle zur Verfügung gestellt.

Mehr zum Projekt

Über das Projekt

Warum FlyingLess

Mit der Internationalisierung von Wissenschaft und Forschung haben auch die Flugreisen der Hochschulangehörigen zugenommen – Wissenschaftler*innen gehören zu den Vielfliegenden. 

Ziel des Projektes FlyingLess ist es, Hochschulen und Forschungsorganisationen bei der Reduktion der Flugreisen, die einen wesentlichen Teil ihrer gesamten Treibhausgasemissionen verursachen, zu unterstützen. FlyingLess entwickelt dabei Ansätze zur Reduktion der Flugreisen im akademischen Bereich, die auf verschiedenen Ebenen (Forschung, Lehre und Verwaltung) umgesetzt werden.  Für eine erfolgreiche Reduktion der Flugreisen ist eine breite Beteiligung und Unterstützung, sowohl der Leitungsebene als auch der Mitarbeitenden und Studierenden, nötig. 

Was bietet FlyingLess

FlyingLess entwickelt ein Monitoringtool für Hochschulen und Forschungsorganisationen zur Erfassung ihrer Flugemissionen und zur Quantifizierung der Emissionsreduktion über die nächsten Jahre. Dieses Tool wird über die Webseite allen Interessierten zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Über Umfragen und Interviews werden Stakeholder innerhalb der beteiligten Partner involviert, deren Bedürfnisse und Meinungen eruiert und im Projektverlauf berücksichtigt. Im Projekt werden die internen und externen Rahmenbedingungen (z.B. Reiserichtlinien, Kriterien der Forschungsfinanzierung) evaluiert, Anpassungen empfohlen und wo möglich von den Partnern umgesetzt. Dabei soll die Exzellenz der Wissenschaft beibehalten werden; Netzwerke von Forschenden sollen weiter ausgebaut und die Karrierechancen des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses nicht gefährdet werden. Erfahrungen aus der Corona-Krise werden reflektiert und im Projekt berücksichtigt.  

Wie werden die Ergebnisse geteilt

Die Ergebnisse werden über verschiedene Kommunikationskanäle (u.a. Webseite, Twitter, Vorträge, Workshops, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit) zur Verfügung gestellt und verbreitet. Ziel ist es, möglichst viele Hochschulen und Forschungsorganisationen zu informieren und zu motivieren, die in FlyingLess gemachten Erfahrungen und erarbeiteten Tools zur Reduktion der Flugemissionen in ihren Organisationen anzuwenden.

Das Projekt wird in enger Zusammenarbeit mit vier Partnern durchgeführt: EMBL (European Molecular Biology Laboratory) und MPI Astronomie in Heidelberg als außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen und die Universitäten Konstanz und Potsdam als Hochschulen.

Das Projekt läuft unter Federführung des ifeu-Instituts Heidelberg in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Dr. Nicole Aeschbach, TdLab Geographie am Geographischen Institut der Universität Heidelberg.

Am TdLab Geographie der Universität Heidelberg forschen Akteur:innen aus Wissenschaft und Praxis gemeinsam an Lösungsansätzen zum Klimaschutz, zur Anpassung an Klimawandelfolgen und zu weiteren Nachhaltigkeitsthemen.

Projektleiterin und Kontaktperson ist Dr. Susann Görlinger (E-Mail: susann.goerlinger@ifeu.de). Unterstützt wird FlyingLess außerdem durch Prof. Marcel Hunecke, Organisations- und Umweltpsychologe an der FH Dortmund und Prof. Leif Döring, Mathematiker an der Universität Mannheim.

Gefördert wird das Projekt über 3 Jahre im Rahmen der Nationalen Klimaschutzinitiative (NKI) des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit. 

Warum FlyingLess

Mit der Internationalisierung von Wissenschaft und Forschung haben auch die Flugreisen der Hochschulangehörigen zugenommen – Wissenschaftler*innen gehören zu den Vielfliegenden. 

Ziel des Projektes FlyingLess ist es, Hochschulen und Forschungsorganisationen bei der Reduktion der Flugreisen, die einen wesentlichen Teil ihrer gesamten Treibhausgasemissionen verursachen, zu unterstützen. FlyingLess entwickelt dabei Ansätze zur Reduktion der Flugreisen im akademischen Bereich, die auf verschiedenen Ebenen (Forschung, Lehre und Verwaltung) umgesetzt werden.  Für eine erfolgreiche Reduktion der Flugreisen ist eine breite Beteiligung und Unterstützung, sowohl der Leitungsebene als auch der Mitarbeitenden und Studierenden, nötig. 

Was bietet FlyingLess

FlyingLess entwickelt ein Monitoringtool für Hochschulen und Forschungsorganisationen zur Erfassung ihrer Flugemissionen und zur Quantifizierung der Emissionsreduktion über die nächsten Jahre. Dieses Tool wird über die Webseite allen Interessierten zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Über Umfragen und Interviews werden Stakeholder innerhalb der beteiligten Partner involviert, deren Bedürfnisse und Meinungen eruiert und im Projektverlauf berücksichtigt. Im Projekt werden die internen und externen Rahmenbedingungen (z.B. Reiserichtlinien, Kriterien der Forschungsfinanzierung) evaluiert, Anpassungen empfohlen und wo möglich von den Partnern umgesetzt. Dabei soll die Exzellenz der Wissenschaft beibehalten werden; Netzwerke von Forschenden sollen weiter ausgebaut und die Karrierechancen des wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchses nicht gefährdet werden. Erfahrungen aus der Corona-Krise werden reflektiert und im Projekt berücksichtigt.  

Wie werden die Ergebnisse geteilt

Die Ergebnisse werden über verschiedene Kommunikationskanäle (u.a. Webseite, Twitter, Vorträge, Workshops, Öffentlichkeitsarbeit) zur Verfügung gestellt und verbreitet. Ziel ist es, möglichst viele Hochschulen und Forschungsorganisationen zu informieren und zu motivieren, die in FlyingLess gemachten Erfahrungen und erarbeiteten Tools zur Reduktion der Flugemissionen in ihren Organisationen anzuwenden.

Das Projekt wird in enger Zusammenarbeit mit vier Partnern durchgeführt: EMBL (European Molecular Biology Laboratory) und MPI Astronomie in Heidelberg als außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen und die Universitäten Konstanz und Potsdam als Hochschulen.

Das Projekt läuft unter Federführung des ifeu-Instituts Heidelberg in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Dr. Nicole Aeschbach, TdLab Geographie am Geographischen Institut der Universität Heidelberg.

Am TdLab Geographie der Universität Heidelberg forschen Akteur:innen aus Wissenschaft und Praxis gemeinsam an Lösungsansätzen zum Klimaschutz, zur Anpassung an Klimawandelfolgen und zu weiteren Nachhaltigkeitsthemen.

Projektleiterin und Kontaktperson ist Dr. Susann Görlinger (E-Mail: susann.goerlinger@ifeu.de). Unterstützt wird FlyingLess außerdem durch Prof. Marcel Hunecke, Organisations- und Umweltpsychologe an der FH Dortmund und Prof. Leif Döring, Mathematiker an der Universität Mannheim.

Gefördert wird das Projekt über 3 Jahre im Rahmen der Nationalen Klimaschutzinitiative (NKI) des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt, Naturschutz und nukleare Sicherheit. 

Was macht FlyingLess?

Downloads & Links

Downloads

Links

Podcast von Claudia Frick und Florian Freistetter zum Klimawandel (IPCC Report), hier auch zum Thema Fliegen

Flyingless Blog der Tufts University

Resource Guide Flying Less in Academia mit allgemeinen Informationen zum Thema Flugreisen im akademischen Bereich, nachhaltige Konferenzen, etc.

STAY GROUNDED ist eine internationale Bewegung, die sich mit den Auswirkungen des Luftverkehrs auf das Klima befasst.

Weltkarte zu akademischer Flugreisenreduktion und Kompensationsprojekten (Agnes Kreil)

Satelliten

Interessierte Hochschulen und Forschungsinstitutionen können als sogenannte „Satelliten“ im Projekt eingebunden werden – weitere Informationen dazu finden sich im Flyer zur Teilnahme als Satelliten am Projekt FlyingLess.
Falls Sie Interesse haben als „Satelliten“ am Projekt teilzunehmen oder mehr dazu wissen möchten, können Sie sich gerne an Dr. Susann Görlinger (susann.goerlinger@ifeu.de) wenden.

Wer nimmt teil

Das Projekt wird in enger Zusammenarbeit mit vier Partnern durchgeführt: EMBL (European Molecular Biology Laboratory) und MPI Astronomie in Heidelberg als außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen und die Universitäten Konstanz und Potsdam als Hochschulen.

Uni Konstanz

Universität Konstanz: Erfolgreich in der Exzellenzinitiative und der Exzellenzstrategie des Bundes und der Länder. Seit 2007.

Uni Potsdam

Die Universität Potsdam ist mit ca. 22.000 Studierenden die größte Hochschule in Brandenburg.

EMBL

Das EMBL ist Europas einzige zwischenstaatliche Organisation für biowissenschaftliche Forschung, die Pionierforschung betreibt und modernste biologische Dienstleistungen und Infrastrukturen bereitstellt. 

MPI

Das Max Planck Institut für Astronomie erforscht die Natur unseres Universums – von Planeten und Sternen bis hin zu Galaxien und Schwarzen Löchern – zu enthüllen.

Projektleitung ifeu

Das ifeu forscht und berät weltweit zu wichtigen Umwelt- und Nachhaltigkeitsthemen für zahlreiche internationale und nationale Fördermittel- und Auftraggeber. Es zählt mit über 40-jähriger Erfahrung zu den bedeutenden ökologisch ausgerichteten, unabhängigen und gemeinnützigen Forschungsinstituten in Deutschland.

zum ifeu

Projektförderung